Ice Cream Anyone? 5 Simple Ingredients EVERY home Has!

Summer is an interesting time where we are all trying to “get into bikini shape” but all this heat is leaving us craving a delicious cold ice cream cone from childhood.

Growing up I spent most of my summer days with my cousins.  Many of those days were spent leaving the sticky San Fernando Valley and finding solace at the cool beach.  After a long day of boogie boarding, building sandcastles, playing Frisbee and covering each other in sand Grandma would take us to this delicious ice cream shop.  Nothing tastes better after a day soaking up the sun then a tasty sweet ice cream cone (vanilla with sprinkles was always my go to).

This was a fabulous tradition as a child but it has left me with this deep craving for ice cream every time I leave the beach.  After going gluten and dairy free, ice cream became less accessible.  There were many times I would break my healthy fast and gorge on ice cream and then feel like “death” 20 minutes later.  Luckily with dairy and gluten allergies becoming more apparent many companies have created their own “everything free” versions of ice cream.  Unfortunately I have found (1) they can be super $$, (2) they are sometimes full of ingredients that make absolutely no sense in my kitchen, & (3) do not always taste the best.

Sooo why not make my own??  Thus was born the Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Ice CreamVegan Ice Cream

If any of you have ever made homemade traditional ice cream before you know how challenging the stuff can be to make.  Mix the ingredients together, boil on the stove, allow for cooling (usually overnight), then into an ice cream maker… or worse a hand crank machine.  This VEGAN chocolate chip peanut butter ice cream is sooo much easier!

Ingredients:

  • 5 frozen bananas
  • 2 tablespoons of all natural peanut butter (I like the crunchy)
  • 1/3 c vegan chocolate chips
  • 1-2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-2 tbsp almond milk

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in food processor (or Vitamix)
  2. Allow the ingredients to sit 5min (this helps the bananas soften just enough)
  3. Blend until smooth, add additional almond milk if ingredients are not creaming togetherMini Ice Creams
  4. Enjoy and place leftovers (if you have any) into individual mini Tupperware containersIceCream ToGo

I love having these in the fridge because they are a perfect snack for guests (esp kiddos) and a quick and easy end of the night treat for me to enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Ice Cream Anyone? 5 Simple Ingredients EVERY home Has!

    • Thank you!! I have been too and I just recently came up with the mini container idea :). One tip of advice- when enjoying your pre-made containers let them sit out about 5 minutes to get a little soft :)

Leave a Reply

