The Voice of a Cheerleader

Throughout elementary and junior high school I dreamed of being a cheerleader.  Why?  Because I was a huge sports fan? Unfortunately no…at that age I barely knew what a touchdown was.   I wanted to be a cheerleader because I saw it as a sport … a fun lively challenge.  A chance at competitions, shows, and a way to learn new and fun tricks.  It wasn’t until this year that I realized the true importance of a cheerleader…

Google Images

Google Images

I have always heard people say things to each other like, “I’m your biggest cheerleader, your biggest fan.”  I visualized this as a support mechanism.  But I didn’t really get it until this year.  A few years ago I left my secure job as a civil engineer to follow my dreams and passions in health and fitness …that specific dream has consistently evolved.  Over the past few years I struggled with my direction and making ends meet as a personal trainer.  It seemed like as I found that new solution, that new goal, the new health career path … and then there would be a dead end.  I have learned from each path but I just wanted so bad to throw all my energy into one defined focus.  This year I made two huge risks … to join a team in launching a product line, KnotOut™ (www.lavitaforte.com) and to train independently, traveling to clients homes.  Honestly, there have been several times this year that I have wanted to run to the security of Corporate America … but every time I spoke of this there would always be a friend or colleague to turn me back on my journey to pursue my PASSION.  And I have followed their guide … when you have so many supporters … with so many believing in you it makes risks like this POSSIBLE.  I do not know where this journey will take me but I do know that high I get from helping people to FEEL better inside and out.  This feeling is something that I have only felt as a personal trainer/nutrition coach.  And I am so grateful to all those that constantly stand in my corner to root me on, to believe me even when I have not.  I do not know where I will be in 5 years … but I know that I will be helping people achieve their health goals and free them from pain and that I will always have those supporters to push me forward when things get tough.

Which brings me back to the purpose of cheerleaders … I highly doubt you could convince me to put on a football uniform and run straight at another guy … I mean these guys take a pounding … after one hit I would be begging to be out … especially if your team is losing … could it be the support of cheerleaders (and fans aka seated cheerleaders) that help keep these guys going?  Remind them with their positive energy that they can “FIGHT ON”?

Who are your cheerleaders? Who are you a cheerleader for?

Leave a Reply

