The Open Faced Fried Egg Sandwhich

It’s January and most of us are trying to eat healthier as one of our New Years Wishes ;).  This blog will help you eat healthier, live healthier and workout more efficiently!  Food is one of my favorite things in the whole wide world!  I love to experiment with different flavors and ingredients, I love when a dish turns out mouth watering, I love when people rave about stuff I have made, and I absolutely love tricking people into thinking a dish isn’t that great for you because it tastes soooo good to find out it really is healthy!  Yes healthy food can taste amazing and be simple to make!

We start this year of with one of my favorite EAT-ANY-TIME meals!  This open faced fried egg sandwich works for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner!  I have a special affection to this dish that goes back to college days after a night in my friend’s cabin after way too much Jose…those days I wasn’t obsessed with the healthy lifestyle so the sandwich used to be full of fake American cheese, butter, greasy bacon, mayo and no veggies!  This sandwich is gluten free, dairy free, loaded with veggies, and I feel has way more tasty flavor!

Oh the Deliciousness

Oh the Deliciousness

It’s easy, it’s quick, it’s cheap and it tastes amazing!

Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 slice Ezekiel bread
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 3-4 mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 handfuls spinach leaves
  • 2 tablespoons Grapeseed oil
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp (or one block frozen) basil
  • black pepper
  • hot sauce (optional)
Veggies...make everything better

Veggies…make everything better

Shallots

Shallots

Mushrooms

Mushrooms

Directions:

  1. In a pan heat 1 tbsp Grapseed Oil, shallots, garlic and basil to medium.IMG_7322
  2. Once shallots have softened add mushrooms.IMG_7326
  3. Add spinach, cover with a lid until spinach begins to wilt.IMG_7332
  4. Remove veggies and set to the side.  Add 1 tbsp Grapeseed oil to pan.  Crack 2 eggs directly into pan top with a bit of cracked black pepper.IMG_7335
  5. Cover and allow eggs to set a few minutes.  Remove lid and crack the yolks.IMG_7336
  6. Cover and cook a few more minutes.  Flip the eggs.  Start the toast in toaster.IMG_7338
  7. Place toasted bread on plate.  Add the veggies.IMG_7339IMG_7342
  8. Add the fried eggs.IMG_7343IMG_7344
  9. Top with hot sauce if desired.  Dig in!

    Oh the Deliciousness

    Oh the Deliciousness

7 thoughts on “The Open Faced Fried Egg Sandwhich

    • I eat a plant based diet. I also stay away from gluten, cow’s dairy, refined and processed foods. I do usually have some source of animal protein once per day. I used to lean fully towards veggies, grains, and legumes but I read Eat Right for Your Blood Type and discovered I am blood type O and needed to have more meat in my diet. I tried it and found a lot of my IBS problems?acid reflux issues had gone away and that I wasn’t needing to snack on everything in sight and started to have more energy and build more muscle. I do not eat as much as they push for because I still love my veggies/fruit based diet (I agree about the animals and environment part)…makes me feel mentally better :).

      • thanks for sharing your story! I always say on my blog, KNOWING YOURSELF (mentally, physically and spiritufally) will lead to a happier, more fullfilled life. Looks like you are on the right path!

Leave a Reply

