Recipe of the Week: Meatloaf

So I have to be honest, I have never really been a fan of meatloaf.  My mother and grandmother would make it occasionally and I would complain.  I found it strange that many people were obsessed with meatloaf and even put it into a sandwich!

Since I was never really a fan of meatloaf after I moved out of the house I never made it.  It wasn’t until I saw Anthony’s fixation on meatloaf (I think it’s a man’s thing) that I decided I would finally try to make it (girlfriend points).

Instead of the traditional drab gluten filled meatloaf I created my own twist!  And it turned out absolutely incredible!  I now officially love meatloaf!

Serves: 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb grass fed organic ground beef
  • 1/2 c cooked quinoa
  • 1/4 c diced sweet onion
  • 1/2 c diced mushrooms
  • 1/4 c diced green onion
  • 1/2 c diced cherry tomato
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp red chili flakes
  • 1 tbsp olive oil + oil to coat pan
  • 1 egg

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven 350 degrees.
  2. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl using a wooden spoon or your hands (works the best if you can handle it).
  3. Coat a 6.5″ x 4.5″ x 2.5″ baking dish with olive oil.  You can use a variety of sizes.  If it is a smaller yet deeper pan or a large pan yet less deep baking times will vary*.
  4. Place mixed ingredients in coated baking dish.1391742538988
  5. Bake for 35 minutes.
  6. Let rest 3-5 minutes.
  7. Cut – serve – top with a touch of organic ketchup (HFC of course) and enjoy!20140206_194148

*You can cut the center of the loaf to take a peak.  You want to be sure all the ground beef has turned from red to brown.

6 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Meatloaf, either you love it or you hate it. | NoStove.NoOven.NoProblem

  2. I have never tried meatloaf but I love the idea of using quinoa in place of the traditional fillers. It’s nice to give a modern, healthy twist to childhood classics. Do you think you will make this version of meatloaf a regular thing?

    • Yes! Definitely! I really enjoyed it and so did my boyfriend. And it was more affordable then regular meatloaf. By adding the extra veggies and quinoa the price point goes down (meat being the most pricey part of the dish) and the nutrition goes up!

Leave a Reply

