Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Banana

It’s officially the first week of June.  In these hot days of summer I find my mouth watering at the sound of the neighborhood ice cream trucks.  I remember as a kid during summer break saving up each week for treats from the local ice cream truck.  Drumsticks, Big Sticks, Ice Cream Sandwiches, that crazy Strawberry Shortcake flavored ice cream bar…. I would jump for any of these.  As I got older I realized just how not-so-good these sweet treats were for your body.  I tried to give them up all together and well… that just was not very fun!  But after eating so healthy I would feel terrible just 30 minutes after eating one of these delectable treats.

There had to be a solution!  And I found several :).  After much experimentation in the kitchen… I have found the simplest have been the best!  This is one of my favorites especially for an after dinner treat!

The Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Banana!

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana, sliced length wise
  • 1 tablespoon all natural peanut butter (you can use any nut butter)
  • 1 tablespoon semi-sweet vegan chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Spread peanut butter on one of the banana slices.
  2. Drop chocolate chips on the peanut butter.Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Banana
  3. Cap with the other banana slice.Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Banana
  4. Wrap in foil.
  5. Freeze at least 4 hours or until banana is hard and frozen.
  6. Slice banana into bite size pieces.Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Banana
  7. Enjoy.  Store leftover slices in foil, zip lock, or Tupperware in freezer.

Now when I hear the ringing of the local ice cream truck instead of running outside I run to my own freezer :).

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Banana

Leave a Reply

